Meeting Perez Hilton + The Boy With the Pink Hair

A crazy and random happenstance happened over the weekend.

I met celebrity blogger Perez Hilton!! (All right, it wasn’t completely random. I actually entered a contest and won.)

Because the past weekend just so happened to be the Muchmusic Video Awards, there were celebrities such as Katy Perry, LMFAO, Selena Gomez, Justin Bieber and Carly Rae Jepsen all around the city.

And since Perez has mentioned many times how much he loves Toronto, it would be natural for him to attend the awards show.

While the main purpose of the contest was to meet Perez Hilton and get a signed copy of his book, I really entered the contest to go to his One Night in Toronto after-party to see Ed Sheeran perform.

I’ll admit right here that I am not really a follower of Perez Hilton’s blog. And while I may not be a fan of everything he does, I do have to admit this guy really sells himself well. Whether it’s his personality, blog or his fight for equal rights, I have a lot of respect for this guy for doing what he does even he gets a lot of hate.

That being said, meeting him at his HMV book signing was quite interesting. While I wasn’t able to say a lot to him, I managed to ask him a couple of conversational questions in which he answered politely.  He told me he loved Toronto and that he was excited for his after-party that night as well.

That being said, I received a free copy of his children’s book The Boy With Pink Hair.  While I’m sure the book is loosely based on Perez’ own experiences, the story is about being different and accepting people for who they are.

It surrounds the life of a boy born with hair the colour of pink cotton candy. As a result of his difference, he’s stared at by adults and laughed at by the kids at school.  But with the support of his best friend and his loving parents, he learns to embrace his uniqueness and realizes he can do just about anything in the world.

The book itself has a lovely message and the illustrations by Jen Hill are absolutely adorable. The moral of the story is definitely clear and I believe it shares an important lesson for children to be themselves and to not be afraid of being different.

However, I found it a bit generic and it didn’t particularly stand out to me.

While it is important to have these types of books for young children, I was bothered that the reviews at the back of the book were all by celebrities.  Not that opinions by Lady Gaga, Gloria Estefan and Ricky Martin aren’t important, I just felt that it would feel more legitimate to have reviews from actual book critics and other authors who have experience writing stories.  Because otherwise, it felt very promotional. It seemed almost as if the celebrities’ endorsements and opinions were the most valuable.

Overall, it was neat experience to meet Perez Hilton. While he may not be the most respected person in the entertainment industry, my impression of him was that he was very polite and nice enough to take photos with his fans.

But then again, that’s part of his job.

Many thanks to HMV for hooking me up with the passes and a book!

Leave a Reply

