Perez Hilton’s One Night in Toronto MMVA after-party

I realize that this is a week late, but I had the wonderful opportunity to attend Perez Hilton’s One Night in Toronto MMVA after party last Sunday.

As part of a charity event to support Musicounts, performers at the show included Dragonette, Anjulie, Kay, Carly Rae Jepsen and the wonderful and gorgeous Ed Sheeran (i’m obviously being biased here).

While I wasn’t able to stay for all the performers (I had work the next day), I was able to catch three performances by Anjulie, Kay and of course, one of my favourite British artists at the moment, Ed Sheeran!

But before I talk mostly about Ed’s set, I’d just like to say that Anjulie and Kay were not too shabby themselves!  And did I mention that they’re also Canadian?

While I’ve never heard of Kay before, I thought her songs were very catchy in that guilty-pleasure sort of way.

As for Anjulie, you’ve probably heard her single “Brand New Bitch” taking over the radio.

Now Ed Sheeran on the other hand, was amazing. Having been following his music and career since January, I was super excited to see him performing live in front of an intimate crowd.

While he only performed  three songs, he had excellent stage presence despite his humble attire. Singing Give Me Love (my favourite!), Grade 8 and You Need Me, I Don’t Need You, he made sure to include the crowd in his performance by rallying them to sing along.

I was also particularly happy to hear Ed’s long version of You Need Me, I Don’t Need You.  Including excerpts of songs from 50 Cent, reggae group LaidBlak and  Alonestar (his cousin Jethro Sheeran!), the song literally went on for 10 minutes.  While everyone seemed to be enjoying it, I was annoyed with the guys next to me who said they “were so done with THIS GUY.”

I’m sorry, but “THIS GUY” just so happens to be Ed Sheeran and he is amazing. I just thought that was disrespectful.

But of course, we are all entitled to our opinions.

That being said, something quite amazing happened. While Ed left the stage, I (I’m a little ashamed about this)  ran to the VIP area where all the celebrities were.  Having bought Ed’s CD + I wanted to get an autograph from him.  This girl next time wanted the same thing as me, and she kept rallying me to yell at Ed to come over.

While I didn’t yell that much (too embarrassing!), I managed to have Ed wave at me twice and give me a thumbs up.  Hey, acknowledgement is good!  And guessing that he saw us waving our album pamphlets, he kindly came over and signed them, which totally made my night!!

Even though I was aiming for a photo with him as well, I’m happy that I managed to get a signed CD.  After signing, he even gave me a high five!!  You could imagine what a happy camper I was that night.

If you haven’t heard any of Ed’s stuff, I highly recommend his music.  While I love his debut album, I enjoy listening to his live stuff a lot more.  Check out his performances of “Give Me Love” and “You Need Me, I Don’t Need You” captured in The Live Room.  He sounds exactly the same as in the album.

Overall, I quite enjoyed Perez Hilton’s party.  With a bunch of celebs like Katy Perry, Nelly Furtado, Cody Simpson, Lights and Glee stars Chord Overstreet and Darren Criss attending the party as well, it was pretty cool to be in the same atmosphere as them.

And despite having to wait about two and a half hours for the performers to come up, I really liked the free cotton candy and Popchips offered.   In addition, the DJ was super good as well.

But by that point, I just really wanted to see the performers get onto the stage.

One thought on “Perez Hilton’s One Night in Toronto MMVA after-party

  1. Hey there I’m the girl with the pink hair in your photos lol. I remember him coming to sign your stuff, I remember that was really cool of him to do. The VIP area was hidden by a big black curtain. I was in the front row, and could see into the whole area. I saw LIGHTS and Katy Perry and others hanging out in there (Katy was literally in the farthest corner, crouching down for fear of being spotted lol). It was a cool show. I remember the only things I was disappointed with were that Kat Graham canceled her performance (I was looking forward to it) and that Carly Rae Jepson only did one song.

Leave a Reply

