The theatre should be a safe place.

I was both heartbroken and devastated when I heard of the shootings that took place in Aurora, Colorado last Friday. To find out that one individual, who clearly isn’t in a stable state of mind, ruin several innocent people’s lives for a reason unknown is both selfish and baffling to me.   I can hardly imagine how much pain and suffering the families and friends of the victims are feeling at the moment.

For obvious reasons, I was both angered and saddened that so many people’s lives were taken in the process for a motive that is not known to the public.  But not only was my heart broken , I was furious to see an audience’s film experience completely ruined.  I can’t even blame people for avoiding the movie theatre after this incident.  And because of this, I am saddened.

The movie theatre should always be a safe, dark place offering an escape to another world. Going to the movies has always been one of my favourite things to do.  For someone to ruin that moment and cause so much harm at the same time is probably one of the worst things in life. How and why would someone do this to a randomly selected group of people?  Why must this one person, who appeared to have so much potential, choose to do harm instead of good with his talents?

Even though these questions will probably remain unanswered for a long period of time, this incident has certainly given me pessimistic thoughts and shivers up my spine.

But in a world that appears to be filled with so much evil, I refuse to be believe it’s a bad one.  While there may be individuals who choose to hurt others instead of doing good, I have not lost hope.  Seeing The Dark Knight Rises star Christian Bale visit the victims in Colorado on his own terms has given me a restored faith in humanity.  Not only has he shown himself to be a hero on screen, he’s also proved that he is one in real life.

To see Bale show such humanity has given me some hope for the future.  And while I am still a bit shaken at this time, I should not let these events faze me.

Although anything can happen at any place, we should not let that stop us from living our lives.   In fact, avoiding something for the sake of protecting oneself might just cause more harm.

I know in my heart the world has far more good than the bad.   Life is precious and should not be taken for granted.

So at this time, I would like to express my deepest condolences to the families and friends of the victims in Aurora, Colorado. May you all Rest in Peace.

Leave a Reply

