Concert recap: Childish Gambino

I went to my first rap concert the other day. And let me tell you, it was INSANE.

Last Tuesday, I attended the Childish Gambino concert at Echo Beach on a whim. Considering that I was too late to buy tickets from the main provider, my friend Ani and I managed to scalp them off someone for face value, which is a rare and awesome thing to come by when the concert is two weeks away.

That being said, getting the tickets in our hands was hard enough. Seeing that I found the deal on Kijiji, the seller was only willing to meet on the other side of the city (an hour and half commute away) and on the same day.  While my friend and I were scratching our heads as to how we could get a hold the tickets before there were gone, we spent a good hour texting back and forth with this mysterious person (WARNING: ALWAYS be careful when dealing with strangers).  Thankfully enough, Ani was able to get the tickets in time, and we were off to see Childish Gambino with our other friend Evan!

Since I’ve only really been regularly going to shows this year, this was my first time at Echo Beach.  I’ve been to the Molson Amphitheatre before, but of course, those seats were already arranged.  Echo Beach on the other hand, is general admission.  I personally like GA a lot better because it’s first come first serve.  However, considering the fact that most of the people in front of me were taller, I had a hard time getting good photos or just a glimpse of the performers.  Add that in with standing in wet sand,I don’t think Echo Beach is my preferred venue.  (So far, the Kool Haus has given me great experiences).

But mind you, I still had a great time. Just look how happy we are in this photo! We even made a friend at the back 🙂

The opening act for the show was Chance Tha Rapper. I’ll admit that I’ve never heard of him before, but he was all right. While I have to listen to more of his songs, I do remember him screaming “Ah!” a lot. He also kept mentioning that he was from Chicago and asked if we’ve heard of any rappers from city like Kanye West.

Urrm, last time I checked, Toronto isn’t really a city that’s TOO under the radar. I do have to give him props though. He’s only 19, like he mentioned a couple of times.

That being said, check out some of Chance the Rapper’s songs such as “Hey Ma” and “Brain Cells.”

The highlight event of course, was Childish Gambino aka actor/comedian/screenwriter Donald Glover.  If you’re never heard of him before, you should check him out. You might recognize him as Troy from the comedy series Community, but personally, I enjoy this rapper side of him just as much.

While I’m not a big listener of hip hop, I particularly enjoy Gambino for his comedic and punny rhymes to his reflective lyrics about growing up as a black kid who didn’t fit in with his white peers. Add that in with catchy hooks, he really does know how to put on a great show.

Some highlights from the concert included rapping along to his hit Freaks and Geeks, moshing to Bonfire, Gambino’s shout-out to Asian girls (holla!) and him taking off his shirt.  I was not expecting the latter at all, but…WOW is all I have to say to that.

All in all, I would definitely consider going to another Childish Gambino concert. Just next time, I don’t know if I would like the show to be at a venue like Echo Beach. I’m really not a big fan of standing in the sand after a rainy day.

If you’d love to hear some Childish Gambino, songs I’d recommend are: Freaks and Geeks, Bonfire and Sunrise.

One thought on “Concert recap: Childish Gambino

Leave a Reply

