Submarine directed by Richard Ayoade

It’s not often when you’re graced with a gem of a movie that’s so quirky, charming and delightful that you’ll just want to see it again and again.

For me, that was Richard Ayoade’s 2010 film Submarine, starring Craig Roberts, Yasmin Page, Sally Hawkins and Paddy Considine.

Based on the novel by Joe Dunthorne, the film is a coming of age story of a 15-year-old boy named Oliver Tate (Roberts).  Entering his mid-teens, he only has two objectives: lost his virginity before his next birthday and make the chemistry between his parents alive once again as his mother’s ex-lover re-enters the scene. While off to accomplish these goals, he befriends Jordana (Page), a rebellious girl who soon becomes his girlfriend. And while he juggles between making important decisions in his life to rekindling his parents’ failing marriage, the film ultimately results in a wonderfully unique coming-of-age story.

What really drew me into the film was director/writer Richard Ayoade.  An actor and comedian as well, I first saw him when I started watching the hilarious British sitcom The I.T. Crowd.  In love with his character Moss, I just had to look up Ayoade’s other works.  Upon seeing that he filmed Submarine, I instantly Youtubed the trailer. From the music, plot, and quirky narrative, I instantly knew I had to watch it.  And in my favour, I was not disappointed.

To me, the vibe of the movie was very Wes Anderson-esque with a dash of It’s Kind of a Funny Story.  Add that in with songs contributed by the Artic Monkeys’ Alex Turner, the soundtrack of this movie was quite the ear-gasm.

And since I have a penchant for indie films, watching this was definitely a treat.

Check out the trailer here: 

And because I love this scene so much, I just felt I had to share it.  I hope this doesn’t spoil anything for you. Personally, I don’t think it reveals too much. But if you don’t like spoilers, you have been warned.

Leave a Reply

