Concert: Tokyo Police Club

I’m trying to make an effort to update this blog more often  because so many events have taken place over the past couple of weeks.  From concerts, film festivals to enjoying my last days of summer, there just hasn’t been enough time to post the photos/videos I’ve captured over time.

To be fair, I had my wisdom teeth taken out a few weeks ago and wasn’t in a proper state to do much of anything.  Oddly enough, I still trekked my way to a free Tokyo Police Club show two days after my surgery for the sake of my teenage self who has loved them since Grade 10.  Funny how things work out, huh?

I knew the concert was going to be somewhere around Queen St. W, but I had no idea it was THAT close to Muchmusic.  Having been told by a security guard that he wasn’t aware of a free concert nearby, I had to open up the GPS system on my phone for directions.

Unfortunately, my phone offered me and my friend the most complicated directions.  Had we not gone back to John St., we could have just walked straight instead of turning right and walking four more blocks.

Anyways, the good news is that we made it on time despite the fact that we had to miss Hollerado. Having spent the afternoon watching the Olympic Closing Ceremonies for One Direction, Ed Sheeran and the Spice Girls, we just couldn’t make it on time.  But being a Canadian band, I’m sure they’ll come back.  I’ve already had the pleasure of seeing Hollerado live at NXNE this year and they are very cool guys with lovely music :).

That being said, Tokyo Police Club was right after Hollerado and we made it JUST in time. Being a free show in the middle of a parking lot and all, I was concerned there was going to be a lot of people.  But surprisingly for me, it was comfortable  in a sense that I didn’t have to tippytoe or shove anyone who was moshing too hard (Which for someone who just had surgery, was JUST FINE AND DANDY!!!).

As for the performance of the band, they were just what I expected…AMAZING.  Having been a follower of their music for three to four years, it was nice to hear them play older songs like Cheer it On, In a Cave and Your English is Good to newer ones such as Favourite Colour, Breakneck Speed and Bambi.

After the show, I had the pleasure to meet Dave Monks.  Believe it or not, he was classmates with my cousin…which I think is pretty cool!

I would have mentioned it but that would have been kind of weird given that a lot of fans were there to see him and Graham.

Given my condition, I obviously struggled to smile.  When I told Dave my problem, he asked me how my teeth were and said that taking out your wisdom teeth is the worst. He also told me it was a smart decision to come to the show even though my jaw was in pain!  What a sweet guy!

And since I like marking good concerts with some memorabilia, I headed over to the merch table and purchased a T-shirt.  I even got a free pin out of it!

So to end things off,  thanks for the awesome show TPC! I hope to see more of you guys soon!  I also apologize if this post sounds a bit scatter-brained.  Considering the fact that I have been waking up at 5:30 a.m the past few days to volunteer for TIFF, I just haven’t been able to get back into the groove of things.  Thankfully for me, today was my last day!

So as you can expect more posts to come, please enjoy some Tokyo Police Club!

Leave a Reply

