Holy Motors might just be the weirdest movie I’ve ever seen

Maybe I’m naive or just plain stupid.  But after watching Leos Carax’s artsy- sci-fi flick Holy Motors yesterday, I had no idea how to even decipher it.

Starring Denis Lavant, the audience travels alongside the actor as he goes from appointment to appointment in a limo driven by Édith Scob.  Transforming into various interesting/weird characters such as a beggar woman, a troll, a hitman who becomes himself and a circus acrobat among others, this film was probably the strangest journey I have ever went on through the screen.

When I call this film strange, it doesn’t mean that I think this movie is terrible. I just don’t get it.  My guess is that this movie is about how the human race takes on different personas…or perhaps this might be a look into how cinema is changing over the years as it goes from sci-fi, drama to musical. I really don’t know. I would love to hear anyone’s take on it!

What I did enjoy however, was the costuming and make-up.  I even loved that fun, musical scene with the accordions because that was just so delightfully random.

To be honest with you, I thought Shame was the strangest film I have ever seen.  However, I think Holy Motors takes the cake now.

That being said, I don’t think it’s a bad thing to watch abstract movies now and then. As people, we need to open our eyes and watch things that are out of our comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

