The Waiting Game.

Let’s face it. No one likes to job hunt.

Whenever the summer rolls by, almost everyone in your field of interest is scrolling through the same job postings board and applying for all the things that seem remotely relatable to the degree they are currently working towards.

I’ll admit that I have been doing this since January. But it’s not like I’ve been having much luck.

The thing is, I’ve decided to raise my stakes this year and look for actual paid work related to journalism instead of an unpaid internship. But in this competitive industry, chances are  these internships will not be of the topic of your choosing. And in my case, I’ve found that you can’t be too picky when it comes to scoring that internship that will actually pay you for your work.

Perhaps this is why I haven’t had a lot of luck because I have been quite picky in my choices. But nonetheless,  there comes a time when you apply for something that you really REALLY want.

I’ve recently applied to a program that seems absolutely perfect for me and the goals I want to achieve for the summer. It’s a film mentorship program for students looking to make a short feature film with a unique Asian Canadian perspective.

Being Asian and frequently frustrated with lack of Western Asian voice in the media, I feel that this is the best way for me to help contribute to that. But since I have applied, the waiting game is stressing me out.

This brings me back to the days I applied to Ryerson’s Journalism program back in 2010. Having spent long nights working on my application (not to mention how last minute it was), it took about four months until I actually found out I got accepted.  It was honestly painful.

I can’t help but feel the same stress when I think about whether my pitch/idea is good enough for the program. Most people I have spoken to said they would watch it, but I’m not even sure if they were actually interested or just being nice. Let’s hope it’s not the latter, because I think my idea would be amusing and rather educational to watch on screen.

Thankfully enough, there is about two weeks until I find out whether or not I have been accepted. For some reason, I’m wondering if my application was enough. I have no idea how to write a script for a documentary film so I opted not to do that. But come to think of it, would it be silly to resend an email to the man who looks at applications with an extra attachment script? I do know for a fact that the application said it wasn’t necessary.

The things I stress myself out with..sigh.

I really wish I didn’t put all my eggs in one basket, but this is something I have wanted for a really long time. I know I want to make films. I want this to happen.

Leave a Reply

