Concert Recap: The Grove Music Festival

P1100965

Phoenix performing a killer set.

This past long weekend had a plethora of activities ranging from Osheaga, Lollapalooza, Caribana and OVOFest among many other things.

While I was spending my weekend working away on my blogging job, I was lucky enough to score some tickets to the Grove Music Festival at Fort York via a contest hosted by Vice Canada.

P1100947

Earl Sweatshirt and Taco Bennett..members of Odd Future.

I’ll be completely honest and say that I probably wouldn’t have bought tickets to this event even though I absolutely love Phoenix and have heard a couple of Girl Talk songs in the past. Because with bigger name acts such as Icona Pop and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis dropping from the fest, there just didn’t seem like a lot to look forward to. Mind you, I don’t actually consider myself a big fan of those two acts so I still probably wouldn’t have paid to go…

However, I’m super glad I went because I was pleasantly surprised. I discovered how much I really like Hot Chip and how fun Girl Talk actually is. And plus, Phoenix was top-notch throughout their whole one-hour set. I was actually upset they couldn’t play longer but at least they played all my favourites like 1901, Girlfriend, Lasso, Lisztomania and Entertainment. 

P1100963

Thomas Mars, the lead singer of Phoenix.

Even better, I even managed to get some free Coke, a tote bag (It’s super thin. But still, FREE!)  and some caffeinated chocolate. As you can tell, it was a super HEALTHY day complete with some pulled pork poutine 😉

That being said, I thought the Grove Music Festival showed some promise despite rookie mistakes of originally putting the show on Niagara-On-the-Lake and during the long weekend. Perhaps if they didn’t price the beer at $11 a pop and fix their many audio issues, it would be even better next year. In comparison to indie music events like NXNE, Grove could be the VERY next big musical festival featuring up-and-coming artists. Because if I didn’t come, I wouldn’t have discovered the awesomeness of Earl Sweatshirt or Hot Chip.

And plus, I wouldn’t have gotten to experience the epic-ness of Phoenix in the flesh. Seeing them live made me remember just how amazing their album Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is.

2013-08-03 20.12.36

Girl Talk gets the crowd hyped.

Too bad I made the foolish mistake of forgetting my SD card at home. I had to make do with built-in camera memory and my phone. Here are some more photos I managed to get.

2013-08-03 20.54.35

Hot Chip doing their thang.

2013-08-03 16.22.56

Palma Violets soldiers through poor audio.

P1100945

Earl Sweatshirt

P1100968

Thomas Mars of Phoenix

P1100969

Phoenix

2 thoughts on “Concert Recap: The Grove Music Festival

Leave a Reply

