Taste of the Danforth: Chowing down on some local food

Photo courtesy of Alexa Huffman.

Photo courtesy of Alexa Huffman.

2013-08-11 17.46.30

For all the fantasizing we do about living in other cities, I do have to say that I love living in Toronto.

With the abundance of film festivals, concerts and food celebrations, it feels like I get to experience a slice of every single culture in the city.

The reason I love Toronto is because I can literally head outside and get any type of food I want within a short walking distance. From dim sum, ramen, sushi, tacos and shawarma, I absolutely LOVE the fact that I can try so many different things right on home soil.

2013-08-11 16.46.38

This past weekend, I went to Taste of the Danforth to get my hands on some delicious Greek food. While there were other options available, my friends and I settled on gyros, baklava, Kataifi and jerk chicken perogies (which probably isn’t Greek, but a hybrid of Polish/Carribean!)

While the event was verycrowded and hard to move around, it was a great spending the day with friends. Cultural events are what makes Toronto so great in the summer!

Leave a Reply

