TIFF 2013 Day 3: Supermensch, The F Word and the cast of Labor Day

The F Word 2

Moving along on my TIFF 2013 coverage, Saturday included a double whammy of film watching.

In the morning, I was working a shift at Roy Thomson Hall and was invited to catch the premiere of Mike Myers’ documentary called Supermensch: The Legend of Shep Gordon. 

I was not allowed to take any pictures as I was technically still working. However, what was cool about attending the premiere was the fact that I was sitting in the same row as Alice Cooper!

The film surrounds Shep Gordon, the eccentric manager that has handled the careers of Alice Cooper, Anne Murray and helped develop the celebrity chef movement. With interviews by Cooper, Michael Douglas, Sylvester Stallone and Gordon’s own adopted children, Supermensch is Myers’ delightful and sappy directorial debut that pays homage to his dear friend.

Highlight of that screening? Mike Myers giving a shoutout to his hometown Scarborough!!

When my shift was over, I was headed towards Ryerson, to rush The F Word, one of three Daniel Radcliffe films premiering at TIFF. While I was waiting in the rush line for the film, I managed to get some snaps of Kate Winslet and Josh Brolin as they were leaving the theatre for Labor Day, which screened right before Radcliffe’s film.

DSC_0799 (2)

Kate looked absolutely radiant. I did not know she was expecting a child, but I do have to say she was glowing the whole time and very, very cheerful even if she looked a bit fatigued from the madness of TIFF

DSC_0801 (2)

Josh Brolin was very kind to fans…obliging to sign many autographs before he left the theatre.

After about four hours of waiting, we were finally let in. I managed to get a seat at the middle back of the theatre’s main floor, which allowed me to get a good view of the screen and the stage.

The F Word 3

I was particularly excited to see that Adam Driver made an appearance at the festival as well. As he plays my favourite character on the show Girls, I do have to say I am in awe of his talent. He really is brilliant!

I wasn’t expecting The F Word to be as good as it was, but I was pleasantly surprised. Filmed in Toronto (and also in Dublin!), the movie features some really great Toronto haunts such as The Royal Cinema, Scarborough Bluffs and Leslieville’s Purple Purl.

What I really loved about the film was how it was a cute, romantic comedy without making me want to throw up. It wasn’t sappy and it had the right amount of Toronto featured without making it look corny. It truly was a love letter to Toronto!

I don’t see many great Canadian films (or maybe, I just don’t hear of many because they aren’t in many cinemas…) but I really have to tip my figurative hat down to Michael Dowse (director of Goon) for producing such a warm movie and managing to get such charming leads in Daniel Radcliffe and Zoe Kazan. Adam Driver seemed to play a similar character from Girls, but that doesn’t mean he wasn’t likable at the same time!

The F Word one

Highlight of the premiere? When Daniel Radcliffe mentioned how delicious the “Fool’s Gold” sandwich was. What’s a Fool’s Gold you ask? It’s basically a sandwich that consists of a hollowed-out loaf of bread filled with one jar of creamy peanut butter, one jar of grape jelly and a pound of bacon. I think I need to try this out myself!

Overall, after Saturday, the festival was beginning to pick up after the minor disappointments from days 1 and 2!

Leave a Reply

